Brave Returns

In recent weeks, I’ve let other parts of my life overtake this blog. This personal growth project which had become what I looked forward to day to day had been put on the back-burner again. I would have thought that I’d learned after my previous post but that’s the struggling of living with no sensory memory. Last time, it was easy to jump back on the horse, after reducing my workload and practising better self-management techniques. This time was a little different.

I’d recently written a piece on Destination Addiction and although I got a lot of positive feedback and encouragement, and my shift in perspective has significantly reduced the issue (although I still struggle with it), it’s also caused some very thought-provoking discussion on the topic of self diagnosis and mental health. Discovering I have a problem with food also shook up my idea of myself, and that’s been a new struggling in my life, and trying to communicate that I struggle to force myself to eat enough on a regular basis has also been a tender topic.

Suddenly, this blog was starting conversations I hadn’t prepared responses for. I didn’t know how to respond to the people I had offended with my interpretation of myself, and was trying to find a way to convey my problems in attempt to seek assistance. I was considering writing an apology post, voiding my previous opinions to try to soothe the tension it had created. But something about that didn’t sit well with me either.

What I had been trying to express was an interpretation, a theory, a starting point for a solution. I myself know the stigma around self diagnosis and see how some people use it to excuse unthinkable behaviour, I get it. However, personal experience has led me to believe that if someone wants to improve and asks for help, what does it cost me to help them figure out where they’re at and to where they’re going?

I realise I am going to posting about things that I might not fully understand sometimes, and I hope my readers understand it’s out of ignorance and not malice that I share my journey in understanding them and myself with you. I hope to be wrong and continue to have these conversations with all of you, so that I might learn better.

Leave a comment